2014 Candidates for Ministry

| |

On the following pages you will find photos and information about those approved by Synod 2014 as candidates for Ministry of the Word. These are the persons who will join elders, deacons, song leaders, worship directors, church school teachers, and a host of others to lead our churches and ministries in the coming years.

In his letter to Timothy, Paul encouraged Timothy to “entrust” the things he learned from Paul to “reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others” (2 Tim. 2:2). Pastors are persons entrusted by the church for pastoral leadership and service. They play a vital spiritual role in our lives in order that we can play a role in the lives of others.

Paul went on in the next verse to encourage Timothy to join with him in “suffering, like a good soldier of Christ Jesus.” The image of a soldier of Christ Jesus may not resonate as much for us as it did in Paul’s day, but we all know that discipleship and ministry are difficult. We need teachers, encouragers, spiritual guides, and even persons who will protect us with ministries of prayer and accountability.

The persons on the following pages have been well schooled in biblical, theological, and practical pastoral matters. They have been shaped intellectually, spiritually, and professionally by those who have been entrusted with the task of preparing candidates for ministry. They will continue to be shaped as they serve alongside us in positions of ministry. And, by God’s grace, they will shape us, and the next generation of the church, into the image of Christ.

Review these pages with a prayer of thanks and with a heart that is ready to partner with these men and women in ministry. Thank God for our seminary and its faculty, and thank God for the hard work these candidates have completed in preparation for candidacy. May it be, by the grace of God, that the church will transform the world as it presents the Christ who has called and appointed us. And may each of these persons find their place in ministry as they become candidates.

For more detailed information on any of these candidates, visit the Candidacy Committee website at crcna.org.

“The things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others. Join with me in suffering, like a good soldier of Christ Jesus.”
—2 Timothy 2:2-3

Brad Bierma
970-985-5113
bb094@calvinseminary.edu

Richard C. Boomsma
616-318-9938
boomerandannie@gmail.com

Richard Braaksma*
403-797-4455
richlymade@gmail.com

Dan De Graff
219-789-6287
degraff.d@gmail.com

Adrian de Lange
616-890-5283
ard054@calvinseminary.edu

Nevada DeLapp
Languages:
English, reading proficiency in French and German
616-443-4164
ndelapp9@calvinseminary.edu

Jonathan DeRuiter
360-770-0458
jhd81@calvinseminary.edu

Paul DeWeerd
616-307-2346
pddeweerd@gmail.com

Woodrow P. Dixon
905-931-5779
pastor@jubileecrc.org

Jun Kyoung Eo
Languages:
Korean, Nepali, and English
616-818-6477
jke032@calvinseminary.edu

Joseph Groenveld
613-448-3541
pastorjoe@xplomet.ca

Robert Grussing
616-748-0493
rjg66@calvinseminary.edu

Patrick N. Guarracino
267-625-8975
pgclassic1@gmail.com

Byung Soo (Paul) Han
Languages:
Korean and English
616-322-7932
bshan3@calvinseminary.edu

Gareth Harker*
519-267-3353
gpharker@gmail.com

Ryan Hoogerbrugge
226-627-8808
rhooger3@gmail.com

Erik William Kamp
708-813-0022
kamper1983@gmail.com

Thomas Brent Kladder
616-916-6610
discipleship@ivnarestcrc.org

Joel Klingenberg*
616-430-0566
jhkling11@gmail.com

Michelle Joy Kool
Languages:
English and French (not fluent)
780-418-4342
MichelleKool@shaw.ca

Jeremy Kreuze
616-836-6039
jeremy@westendcrc.org

Victor Laarman*
289-396-3642
vlaarman@gmail.com

Mark Langenbach
616-589-2918
mel34@calvinseminary.edu

C. Gregg Lawson
905-668-4857
lawson9950@gmail.com

Dae Jong Lee*
571-425-8093
dae.j.lee@gmail.com

Ezra Lee
616-530-7422
Godwithezra@hotmail.com

Samuel Lee*
778-885-4361
samuelylee74@gmail.com

Timothy Leferink*
647-317-2529
tkleferink@gmail.com

John C. Medendorp
616-666-9846
jcm86@calvinseminary.edu

Dena Meyerink
616-914-4200
der245@gmail.com

Cornelius Muasa*
Languages:
English, Kikamba, and Swahili
616-308-9024
nealmuasa@gmail.com

Brady Mulder
616-366-8041
bjmulder3@gmail.com

Michael Nanninga
807-707-3137
mdn43@calvinseminary.edu
www.michaelnanninga.info

Brent Pollema
616-249-8968
bpollem8@calvinseminary.edu

David Reynolds
928-699-9391
pastor@hopeflagstaff.org

Kyle Sanford
219-314-5406
Proscuneo@gmail.com

Kurt C. Schaefer
Languages:
English, German, and Hungarian
616-285-8189
schk@calvin.edu

Sarah Schreiber
616-994-2997
ss033@calvinseminary.edu

Paula Seales*
616-485-0402
pseales2000@yahoo.com

Eunchong (David) Shin*
Languages:
Korean, Japanese, and English
503-504-3333
eunchong.shin@gmail.com

Evan Steensma*
616-550-7115
estensma@gmail.com

Jay Stringer*
206-465-8077
stringer.jay@gmail.com

Lesli van Milligen
Languages:
English and Spanish
519-265-3979
Leslilynne@gmail.com

Cory Van Sloten*
712-441-2737
cory.vansloten@gmail.com

Dayna Joy Vreeken
403-848-2231
vreeken.dayna@gmail.com

Albert Wu
Languages:
English and Cantonese
778-888-2598
albert.wu@thetapestry.ca

Luke Wynja*
712-261-1426
Lukewynja@cs.com

Leo Yoon*
Languages:
Korean and English
718-619-9755
yoonleo@gmail.com

Andrew David Zylstra
Languages:
English and some Spanish
616-647-5366
adz30@calvinseminary.edu

*Asterisks indicate candidates who are not eligible for call until they have completed all requirements.

About the Author

Rev. David Koll Director of Candidacy for the Candidacy Committee of the CRC and the faculty of Calvin Theological Seminary

X