Skip to main content

Ministers Coming and Going

Entering Ordained Ministry

Entry into ordained ministry in the Christian Reformed Church is governed by Church Order Article 6 (candidates who have the prescribed seminary training), Article 7 (those without seminary training who are deemed to have exceptional gifts), and Article 8 (ministers from other denominations).

Every person who enters ordained ministry in the CRC must be examined by a classis in the presence of synodical representatives (deputies). This winter, classes examined and approved the following:

Article 6: Nicholas Blystra, Jacci Busch, Tineke Cornelison, Daryl DeKlerk, Steven Koster, Dale Melenberg, Joel Vande Werken, Julia Prins Vanderveen, Trevor Vanderveen

Article 7: Russell Boersma

Article 8: Revs. Sun-il Kim, Young Sik Kim, YoungMan Kwon, SungJae Park, Jong Pil Oh, Jae Kil Yang

Leaving a Congregation

When neither retirement nor discipline is involved, a minister can, for weighty reasons, be released from ministry in a specific congregation, at the request of the pastor, the church council, or both. Classes released the following ministers: Revs. John Koster, Ricardo Orellana, and Xavier Suarez.

Leaving Ordained Ministry in the CRC

Classes may end the ordained ministry status of a pastor if the pastor has voluntarily left the CRC or has taken up a nonministerial vocation. A classis may also end ordained ministry status if a minister released from a congregation does not receive a call to another church within two years. Those whose status as an ordained minister was ended include Abraham Lee and Steven Van Eck.

—Banner News Correspondents

We Are Counting on You

The Banner is more than a magazine; it’s a ministry that impacts lives and connects us all. Your gift helps provide this important denominational gathering space for every person and family in the CRC.

Give Now